For some time now I have been wanting to change out my landing and taxi lights to something that will throw out alot more light. The 100W halogen job just was not doing the job for me. I am thinking about using my RV to get my night rating this summer so it just gave me that extra initiative to get it sorted.

Options to consider was either LED or HID, even though some LED options out there are spectacular and the benefits of weight and power consumption are unmatched, they do tend to come with a hefty price tag and installation/modification is more involved.

I elected to go with HID units as many other have recommended them. DDM Tuning

In the DDM Plus kit each ballast is protected against RF feedback by an integrated ferrite bead before the igniter to prevent radio static, installation was really simple as you can select the globe type (In my case H3) and it was a direct replacement to the old halogen globes.

img_1857

img_1854

The ballast was fixed to the outside rib of the each wings and using adel clamps to hold everything nice and secure.

img_1855

With the right side completed I took a compassion shot in a fairly bright hangar and the difference in light spread and intensity is impressive! Cant wait to try these out in the dark. I decided on 55W 4500K lamps as I was wanting a pure white light rather than a tint of blue. All up these kits cost me $70USD which is well worth the $ for what you receive in my opinion, I might even get another set for the truck.

img_1845img_1848

img_1850

Once I get some airtime behind these, I will update this entry with a bit of a report on power consumption, RF noise over the radio and also if I can actually get these units to wig wag using the VPX. Stay tuned!

img_1842

Left = HID — Right =Halogen