The oil cooler according to the plans should be mounted on the rear baffle surrounding the engine. Because I have got a closed in plenum with a 3 inch hole exit at the rear I will be using the vans supplied kit to mount the cooler on the firewall and supplying it with airflow via a scat tube.

I have got two coolers. The first larger one I received with the purchase of the engine and the smaller one was included in my firewall forward kit from vans.

As usual I assume the larger one will be better and more efficient. Not always so, after a few nights on the net and lycoming websites I found that a major problem with these engines are over-cooling of the oil, and I was advised to use the small cooler and inspect my temps once it is flying…I can always go larger if needed. The big advantage of the small cooler is that it weighs half the amount and is much easier to install with the vans supplied kit.

I fabricated the mounting brackets and top shroud for the cooler.

Primed and painted

After much debate on the final mounting location I found a position I was happy with which allows two of the main attach bolts to go through the firewall stiffeners. For the other two bolts I fabricated a doubler plate. I will reinforce it more if needed but for now it is pretty firm.

I then attached the oil lines from the engine to the cooler and vice-verse. I used an adel clamp through the shroud attach hole to keep the oil line from touching the cooler.

Finishing off for the day I attached the oil pressure line from the engine to oil pressure sender.