It has been a long time coming, but today I cranked over the engine for the very first time since I started this build 2 years ago.

There was many checks and items that needed to be addressed before I turned that key. Me and Dee got to the hangar fairly early and started pre-oiling the engine. This is basically making sure that all the oil lines, oil cooler & filter is filled with oil before starting. It is important to have oil pressure within 10 seconds after starting. I wanted to make sure the oil line going to the pressure sender was filled with oil to give me an instant reading.

Here I am turning over the engine with the spark plugs removed to spread the oil.

DSC00787

I got Dee to take a photo of the EFIS showing that the oil pressure was active by hand turning , This indicates all the oil lines are now pre-oiled.

DSC00789

After installing all 8 spark plugs, and going through my pre-start checklist I was ready to tie down the tail to my car…just in-case the brakes fail 🙂

DSC00795 DSC00792 DSC00790

Here is a link to the first start video.

http://youtu.be/zIdzTrJsAbA

First the engine did not fire. Not sure why but everything seemed pretty good. I let the starter cool down for a couple of seconds whilst I made sure I could hear the fuel boost pump running. Then cranked it again and she jumped into life! Great feeling, so glad I had my Parents and wife there to share the moment with!

Everything was working great, I only have an issue with RPM reading and fuel flow reading. Couldn’t really have asked for it to go any better!

The MGL EFIS (Glass panel) records every single parameter in a black box style. I did a taxi test the next day and got a screen shot of how the information is interpenetrated.

First Taxi Test

First Taxi Test

Engine log1

Cylinder head & Exhaust gas Temps.

Cylinder head & Exhaust gas Temps.

Google earth recording of my taxi.

Google earth recording of my taxi.